Congratulations to our 2015-2016 Regional Officers

The Georgia Region welcomes its 2015-2016 Regional Officers:

President: Gerald Andre, Atlanta Metropolitan State College
Vice President: Danielle Sumner, South Georgia State College
Chapter Relations: Justin Jones, Georgia Highlands
Secretary: Ashton Burke, Darton State College

Congratulations again, and the region looks forward to an excellent year.

Remembering Margo Hamm

Thehamm_margo Georgia Region is deeply saddened to hear of the loss of Margo Hamm, Regional Coordinator for the Kentucky region.

Margo was warm, kind, inspirational, and embodied the ideals of Phi Theta Kappa. She was a servant leader who gave unselfishly of herself, while encouraging others to excel.

Before Margo became ill, she was involved in spearheading a project called the Lewis County Imagination Library. Her family has asked that we celebrate Margo’s love of reading by supporting this project. Those willing and able to assist can send donations to c/o Robin Hamm-LaValley, 1482 Shady Brook Lane, Portsmouth OH 45662.

Margo will be missed by all who had the great fortune to meet her.

Georgia Members Attend 2014 Honors Institute

Washington University

Students from the Georgia Region attended the 2014 Honors Institute at Washington University in St. Louis. They joined approximately 500 members, advisors and alumni for an intensive five-day exploration of the 2014-2015 Honors Study Topic, Frontiers and the Spirit of Exploration, with presentations by speakers from a variety of disciplines as well as small group discussions in seminar sessions, city as text by exploring the gateway to the west with a visit to the Gateway Arch, the historic Old Courthouse, and a riverboat cruise on the Mississippi River.

This year’s event was held in St. Louis, Missouri and provided the attendees opportunities to hear world-renowned speakers such as character actor Patrick Lee as Captain William Clark, tissue engineer and Senior TED fellow Dr. Nina Tandon, distinguished Washington University professor and head of NASA’s Plantetary Data System Geosciences Node Dr. Ray Arvidson, executive vice-president of animal care and animal training at Chicago’s Shedd Aquarium Mr. Ken Ramirez and National Geographic Society Explorer-in-Residence and oceanographer Dr. Sylvia Earle. The week concluded with a performance by St. Louis native Pokey LaFarge and his band. LaFarge recently appeared on The Tonight Show with David Letterman and receives praise from NPR Music and Billboard Magazine because of his celebration of American music traditions.

Members attending were Winona Meddings from Alpha Tau Zeta (Athens Tech), Justin Jones from Alpha Psi Omicron (Georgia Highlands), Janet Walker from Beta Beta Tau (Atlanta Metropolitan State), Chelsea Burke and Michael D’Ambrosio from Alpha Rho Omega (South Georgia State). Advisors Michelle Geisart, Amy Hancock and Frank Malinowski also attended.

Since 1968, the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Institute has engaged members in intensive investigation of the Society’s Honors Study Topic, an academic theme selected for its timelessness, global significance and interdisciplinary applications. Created to celebrate Phi Theta Kappa’s 50th anniversary, the Honors Institute format is based on a program used at Oxford University. Attendance is limited to approximately 500 to create an engage scholarly community of faculty and students from across the nation and around the world.

Beta Beta Tau Chapter Brings Home Honors

2014 Phi Theta Kappa International Convention Excitement!

BBT Group

Atlanta, GA:  Atlanta Metropolitan State College’s chapter, Beta Beta Tau, was well represented at the 2014 Phi Theta Kappa International Convention in Orlando, Florida. During the Awards Ceremony on Saturday evening, it was announced that Beta Beta Tau Chapter had placed in the following categories –Honors in Action: Issue One, Distinguished Honors in Action Project, Distinguished Chapter Award, Five-Star Chapter, and Top 100 Chapters.  Ms. Robin Mosby, an alumni of our chapter, received a Phi Theta Kappa International Alumni Appreciation Award that same night. Beta Beta Tau Chapter was represented by the following members, Janet Walker, Nicholas Vaz, Martins Iyoha, Richelle Isaac, Robin Mosby, and Michelle Geisert.

BBT Awards  Robin Mosby


Photos and Awards Summary submitted by Janet Walker, Regional Officer of Chapter Relations.