All-Georgia Awards Honor Students Statewide

Students from across Georgia were honored Thursday, March 12 at the Sloppy Floyd building in downtown Atlanta, overlooking the State Capitol. Honorees were:

Katy Johnson and Ebony Missick, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

Olivia Johnson, Andrew College

Jared Ford, Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Shelley Brooks and Samantha Nagy, Darton State College

Sabrina Ogletree, East Georgia State College

Hannah Lively, Michael Vanderberg, Gena Carter, Hillary Rowell, Hali Bohannon, and Lindsey Miles, Georgia Highlands College

Charles Fletcher, Mary Lucas, and Shane Kiral, Georgia Military College 

Aemah Badri, Deepa Singh Thakuri, Armel Nsiangani, Rozhin Parvaresh, and Jeremy Borger, Georgia Perimeter College

Elizabeth Brown, Gwinnett Technical College

Kaitlin Spivey and Sylvia Smith, South Georgia State College

Kati Chacon, Andrena Mathis, Erica Leikvoll, and Katherine Roth, University of North Georgia

In addition, Aemah Badri of Georgia Perimeter College was selected as a 2015 New Century Scholar and will receive a $2,000 scholarship, and Kaitlin Spivey of South Georgia State College was chosen as the Coca Cola Silver Scholar, and received a $1,250 scholarship.

Each student was named to the All-Georgia Academic Team, sponsored by the Coca Cola Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa, and receive a medallion and commemorative certificate. In attendance were college administrators and students from across the state. Kaleb Wilkes, an alumnus of South Georgia State College, served as keynote speaker.

To be eligible for this honor, students must be nominated by their college to the All-Georgia Academic Team.  Nominees are selected based on leadership qualities, community service and outstanding academic performance. Students nominated become eligible for the All-USA Academic Team, the Coca-Cola New Century Scholars Scholarship, and the All-USA Community College Academic Team and Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team scholarships. These programs award over $300,000 in scholarships every spring.